PIDP 3250 Visible Learning

I was introduced to John Hattie and the interesting concept of visible learning through the forum postings of my peers. So what does visible learning mean? Visible learning is an enhanced role for teachers as they become evaluators of their own teaching. According to John Hattie, visible learning and teaching occurs when teachers see learning through the eyes of students, and help them become their own teachers. It is critical that teaching and learning are visible. Hattie highlights that teachers should know how they impact student learning. He argues that successful classrooms have visible teaching and learning, where there is great passion displayed by the teacher and learner, and where there is a variety and depth of skill and knowledge by both teacher and student. Teachers must know when learning is correct or incorrect; learn when to experiment; learn to monitor, seek and give feedback; and know how to try alternative learning strategies. But most importantly is that teaching is visible to the student, and learning is visible to the teacher. The more the student becomes the teacher and the more the teacher becomes the learner, the more successful are the outcomes. Hattie argues that teachers need to seek feedback on their practice from both students and colleagues. They also need to help students become their own teachers. Through more visible teaching and learning, there is a greater likelihood of students reaching higher levels of achievement. Hattie shows us how to determine the impact we have right now with our own students. John Hattie’s words: “Know Thy Impact” strikes a chord with me. My takeaway from this is to start with the end in mind. What can, should, or would I want to see as evidence of learning in my students and then what approaches and strategies should I use to ‘achieve’ those outcomes. I shouldn’t be asking: what works but instead ask: what works best? I should modify feedback within my classroom. As a teacher I give a great deal of feedback, and not all of it is good. I need to optimize my feedback, ensure I am giving students powerful feedback they can use, and heighten students’ awareness of the benefits of effective feedback. Hattie’s visible learning approach has provided insight into what I should stop doing and what I should be doing better. In addition, the feedback that students offer to me, whether it relates to what works or what they don’t find engaging, all has a positive effect on the learning that takes place in my classroom.

Reference:
Visible learning: what’s good for the goose…. (2010, April 1). Retrieved June 15, 2014, from https://www.eduweb.vic.gov.au/edulibrary/public/publ/research/publ/Researcharticle_visible_learning.pdf

Leave a Reply

