PIDP 3250 Peer Review

Our instructor posted the video below on Peer review. It is a simple, yet powerful video, well worth the 6 minutes. It really shows the power of feedback. I like how the video shows that students of any age can contribute towards successful peer review and a successful end product. This video allowed me to further reflect on the value of peer review. Peer review refers to the many ways in which students can share their creative work with peers for constructive feedback and then use this feedback to revise and improve their work – as is shown so well in the video: Austin’s butterfly. I realize how valuable peer review is because it encourages reflection and self-assessment during learning. This, in turn, is linked with improved learning. I understand that peer review and, consequently, the feedback given is used to provide students with more opportunities to learn from each other. I appreciate that in order for peer review to be successful, I need to create a classroom environment that feels safe for interpersonal risk-taking so that students will feel more confident in evaluating their peers. I must emphasize to students that the main focus of their peer assessment should be useful feedback. I should help students learn to provide effective feedback by modeling appropriate, constructive criticism and descriptive feedback, and encourage students to be as supportive as possible in critiquing the work of other students.
The forum discussion led me to reflect on the use of peer review, in which students will review each other’s work when completing a research assignment. I will take note of which students work well together during peer review sessions for future pairings. I will consider having two peer review sessions for the same assignment to encourage more thought and several rounds of revision. I look forward to identifying additional learning activities for which peer feedback would be helpful to my students, and incorporating peer-review sessions into my classroom. Using peer review, my students will learn to reflect on their own work, self-edit, listen to their peers, and assist others with constructive feedback.

Leave a Reply

